MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

I am kinda new to all this, and i saw a MG ZR 105+ that said Twin Cams, what are they? and how does it improve preforamce? Also if u get any 16v engine will it always have Twin cams with it?

thanx

tom

p.s try and explian it so a notice would understand :bgrin:

·
Registered
2,268 Posts
Twin cam refers to the cylinder head (the bit with valves) have 16 valves * inlet and 8 exhaust valves.What makes them better than just 8 valves alone it each cylinder has 4 valves rather than 2 (2inlet 2exhaust) o with more valves we also have a greater capacity to move more air either in as fuel/air mixture or exhaust gases.Generally a 16v will allow the engine to 'breath better and hence more air in and a bigger bang.Here we are talking a 4 cylinder but you can have v6 engines which usually have 24 valve 12 inlet 12 exhaust same for v8 they have 32valves.

Anyone remeber audi's 5cylinder?that had 20v

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
griffmonster said:
Twin cam refers to the cylinder head (the bit with valves) have 16 valves * inlet and 8 exhaust valves.What makes them better than just 8 valves alone it each cylinder has 4 valves rather than 2 (2inlet 2exhaust) o with more valves we also have a greater capacity to move more air either in as fuel/air mixture or exhaust gases.Generally a 16v will allow the engine to 'breath better and hence more air in and a bigger bang.Here we are talking a 4 cylinder but you can have v6 engines which usually have 24 valve 12 inlet 12 exhaust same for v8 they have 32valves.

Anyone remeber audi's 5cylinder?that had 20v
Bravo for giving an explanation the guy will never understand!

·
Registered
2,268 Posts
alright then....