MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm new to this form and I was just wondering what solid cams I will need to get rid of the vvc in a 160 engine. I then want to put the head onto a 1.6 bottom end with omega pistons. Thanks Philip

·
Registered
74 Posts
There are lot of options for solid cams in the VVC head - Piper do them, Newman cams do them and so on, just pick the profile you want.

Why are you fitting the head to a 1.6?

·
Registered
74 Posts
I've gone for a Newman Phase 2 for mine which i think is like the Piper 270 but with more lift, am also retaining the std VVC exhaust cam.

I read on the Lotus forum 285s are great for track days etc, but a couple people said they regretted fitting them to a road car (which mine is...for now) as they're not as nice at lower rpm and don't give as good road manners.

You've got those ITBs and a 1.8 in yours as well to help out though don't you :)

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
There are lot of options for solid cams in the VVC head - Piper do them, Newman cams do them and so on, just pick the profile you want.

Why are you fitting the head to a 1.6?
Hi I'm fitting it to a 1.6 because we use the 1.8 bottom ends in race cars so there more valuable to us.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Remember theres more to it than just fitting solid cams - you'll need to pay for the VVC blanking plates, you'll also need to change the ecu/mapping to go from a vvc-solid cam map.

This adds up very quickly.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Remember theres more to it than just fitting solid cams - you'll need to pay for the VVC blanking plates, you'll also need to change the ecu/mapping to go from a vvc-solid cam map.

This adds up very quickly.
Yeah the more I look into it I might stay with vvc as k maps have done the same build with vvc on a 1.6 so they have a map for it.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Its basically what i am doing to mine right now.