MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2002 MG TF VE51FTF
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,
I'm a newbie (intro on correct forum) currently looking for a MGTF and they have a variety of spare wheels and I hate space savers. The question I would like answering is if I need to get a matching alloy spare wheel, what tyre do I fit, the width of the front or back wheel. My head says the front as they do the steering and most of the braking and a slightly unbalanced rear would be less dangerous.
Secondly any traffic policemen out there, as I understand it space savers are technically illegal as they contravene construction and use regs (last time I looked) and you wont get an MOT with it fitted. If I have an alloy spare fitted to the wrong axle how do I stand? should I paint the alloy black and stick a 50mph max sticker on it.
All comments welcome especially if you are a member of the constabulary .
Regards
Deepfat

·
Registered
Rover V8 Marlin
61 Posts
Mine had the 195 wide tyre on. The 215 wide one would go in but take a bit more room.

·
In the Garage
MG TF
33,182 Posts
The size of spare wheel could be seen as a bit of a moot point with the TF fitted with directional tyres the wheel will only fit correctly in one position, this is why all factory fit spare wheels regardless of size were painted in a bright colour and limited to 50mph and a range of 50 miles. With a TF without the large brakes the standard 14” steel spare wheel is fine to get you home or to a garage, it isn’t as narrow as a traditional space saver wheel.

Many years ago we had a member who worked for Parelli and he said that that most punctures are on the rear.

·
Premium Member
522 Posts