MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am brand new to the forums so please tell me if this is posted in the wrong place. I have just bought a TF for a summer car/lockdown project. On the underside, there is a bit of surface rust on things like the front subframe, and more serious corrosion on (what I think is) the front anti-roll bar.

What is the best way to underseal/fix these issues? I am new to working on cars but will give it a go. Is it worth buying a new front anti-roll bar and fitting it? Could anyone point me in the right direction of how to do this and what part I would need.

Thanks for your help in advance.

·
Premium Member
338 Posts
Stick some photos on here of what you are talking about.
If you search the posts this year - theres a post about corrosion that a few of us have answered/contributed to.

All doable, especially as we all have time on our hands- I actually moved mine on Wednesday this week- Id been following instructions and shielding my wife as shes vunerable- so yes, Ive not been out for 8 weeks!!

·
Registered
mg_tf
1,497 Posts
Front anti-roll bar. Rust on this has no real effect on its integrity as it's so thick, so no real reason to replace unless money is no object or you have no where to work. My 2004 TF had the same issue. I took it off. Not a big job in the grand scheme of things but I can't remember now what access was like - you'd at least have to either get underneath (careful - do not rely on a jack) or remove the front wheels to get reasonable access, although it may be possible to do it just normally parked up. I had the car on stands and the nose and wheels off anyway so was spoiled for access .
The anti-roll bar is held on by a bolt at each end (to the drop-links) and by two brackets with rubbers in them. The powder coat had failed and there were large rust blisters. Not the sort of job where the odd patch here and there makes any sense IMO.