MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

The central locking on my P reg rover 100 3dr doesn't work - it activates and deactivates the alarm/immobiliser and locks/unlocks the boot, but does not lock or unlock either of the front doors. I am a total newbie so would appreciate if anyone could give me any starters into working out what has broken, and what I can do to fix it (or how much it would cost).

Cheers,
James

·
Registered
rover_45
11,619 Posts
Sounds like the motors have gone. Common problem with the Rockwell units. From dealers you are looking at £45 for the passenger one which has two wires and £65 for the drivers which has 5 wires. You can get them from scrappies but they are just as much trouble. Ebay also has some on but your best bet is change them for some universal ones from Maplins but be warned they need slight modification to fit the doors at the window regulator fouls them.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the advice Sejin26: about the maplin universal lock motors, what do you mean by slight modification?

:)

James

·
Registered
mg_zs
1,274 Posts
Good advice. The originals sound like a pig in pain. Mods should not be too bad as the Maplin units come with links and mounting brackets so you can position them somewhere that does not cause trouble. If you still have a problem, may be wires form pillar to door have fatigued.

·
Registered
mg_maestro
701 Posts
Delta said:
Whats the chances of it working on mine if I slit the solonoid casing and pump it with wd40? good idea? stupid idea? worth a try?

It wont work. The teeth on the motor and drive strip as they are plastic, you'll also never be able to put the two pieces back together.

This is a common problem on all triple-m's as they share the same motors.

Strangly the early motors used up to 1988 ish were much better, i have some spares of these and will be fitting them to my own cars.