MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all this is my first time here so please be gentle with me. My 45 hatch has a problem with the air conditioning all help greately recieved. I bought this car just after the Germans pulled the plug and the new management took over it is 5 years old now. My problem is there is no power going through the red lead to the air con clutch ? drive under the Alternater. I know this because the thing works fine if i connect it up directly to the cigar lighter. The fuse is fine and the air con light comes on when the fan is running in the car. Is there another fuse somewhere i should be looking for ?, or does the electricity supply come via some other route than, heater fan, air con switch. As i said everthing works ok when i connect directly. Is this a comon problem, a fault in the wiring loom perhaps. Thanks in advance for all help.
Oh i have had it looked at by my rover dealer, all they suggested was to replace the unit itself which i thought daft when i know it works. Hmmm makes me think it is something simple and they just want some more cash out of me.

G

·
It is probably low coolant pressure. If some of the gas has escaped, the pressure may be low enough to cause the low pressure safety switch to activate in order to cut the power to the compressor and save it from damage. A top up of the refrigerant will probably do the trick.

Do you use the system regularly throughout the winter? If not, you should because the refrigerant in the system stops the seals from drying out and therefore allowing gas to escape.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi thanks for the fast reply. I did get the coolant checked before i wired it up direct though and it did not need any topping up.

·
Registered
2,110 Posts
It could be a couple of things.

Have you checked all the fuses??