MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I've just taken my 02 ZT V6 190+ to my local dealer (ex rover) to get them diagnose a 'knocking' noise when starting from cold. I was previously told on an earlier visit a few months ago that it could be tappets. Now they are saying it sounds 'bottom end' and could be piston slap (requiring a rebuild!). They are still investigating but the mechanic said some K engines suffered piston problems as low as 2k due to manufacturing defects.

Now i'm not a mechanic, but is this must be unusal on a 40k fully serviced K series V6? I got the car at about 28k and I don't drive like a hooligan and alway's check the oil etc. There was no signs of the noise when I bought it though!

It's not burning any oil and the noise does 'fade' away after around 3-4 mins (5 tops if its really cold)

I have a warranty which should cover the work, but I basically just am interested if anyone else has had anything similar happen to their ZT/R75?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,289 Posts
Hi

I've just taken my 02 ZT V6 190+ to my local dealer (ex rover) to get them diagnose a 'knocking' noise when starting from cold. I was previously told on an earlier visit a few months ago that it could be tappets. Now they are saying it sounds 'bottom end' and could be piston slap (requiring a rebuild!). They are still investigating but the mechanic said some K engines suffered piston problems as low as 2k due to manufacturing defects.

Now i'm not a mechanic, but is this must be unusal on a 40k fully serviced K series V6? I got the car at about 28k and I don't drive like a hooligan and alway's check the oil etc. There was no signs of the noise when I bought it though!

It's not burning any oil and the noise does 'fade' away after around 3-4 mins (5 tops if its really cold)

I have a warranty which should cover the work, but I basically just am interested if anyone else has had anything similar happen to their ZT/R75?