MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some advice please, anyone. Should I be concerned about loud rasp - like noise when I release the clutch of my 75CDT under load in first gear? Loud enough to turn heads. Car has 32k on clock. No sign of any leaks, judder or slippage. I'm new to 75s

Many thanks

·
Registered
97 Posts
MY ZT-T does this as well, under load in first gear on pull off or in reverse. I have been told by numorous people that it is nothing to be too worried about, probably the clutch release bearing or the clutch plate.

The guy I spoke to at MGR Direct in Longbridge last week said that many 75s / ZTs did this and it would not cause the clutch to go any earlier then it will go anyway. Whether this is 100% accurate we'll have to wait and see.

When the garage checked it out and I informed that I have warranty, they advised that it may be release bearing or clutch plate but to find out for sure the clutch would have to be strpped down and if the warranty would not cough I was left with the bill, so I passed.

·
Registered
300 Posts
There are several threads on this and the "Gurus" site about this. It is apparently the clutch friction plate which originally was unsprung and caused vibration on engagement . Later versions have shock absorber springs around the hub (which is normal practice ! ) . I have suffered with this "squawk" when moving off when i first got the car, but as i got used to the clutch I seem to have compensated for it and I dont get it any more . It's not in itself a reason to change the clutch , i believe ..............

·
Registered
116 Posts
My late 04 model ZT-T 190 has done it for the last 12 mths & 25k miles and other than the embarasment it is no detriment and I beleive the problem to be the release bearing

·
Registered
5,472 Posts