MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone. Having bought my very first MGF (1999 tahiti blue) last week, it has spent this week (well the last 2 days) in the garage getting serviced. So now I am looking forward to the weekend when I will get to drive it for any distance for the very first time!

Just a bit excited, so thought I would share it with you all, as I am sure you'll all remember your first time! Hopefully the sun will shine and the roads will empty!

Rob

·
Registered
17,075 Posts
Rob

I certainly do remember my first time !!

I've no idea of your background but ....

Please don't forget that it is a mid/rear engine with rear wheel drive - something that a lot of new owners forget or ignore.

Explains the relatively high number of new owners who complain of dangerous or unpredictable road holding in the wet and end up in ditches or resting damaged wheels against kerbs.

Looks like being a great weekend - hope you enjoy the ca as much as we all enjoy ours.

·
In the Garage
MG TF
33,285 Posts
Have fun!

I do indeed remember the first top down dive in the TF. It was Boxing Day 2004 two days after I had bought the car and decided to take the HT off to cheek the condition of the hood and then went for a topless drive around the block, shame it was –3 degrees C at the time.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hey sprinter and chris T.

Thanks for your replies. Sprinter, those were very wise words, and good to see people looking out for others on here. It is my first rear wheel drive car and that is part of the reason I bought it....many people claim it is the REAL way a car should be powered and with the mid engine it should perform beautifully. Going to take it easy though as don't want to prang it! Will make hay while the sun shines though as I expect a rear wheel drive car to be a bit of a nightmare in the snow/rain/ice of winter!