MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. Although familiar with the MG forum I'm new to the MGF area! Just acquired a 2000 VVC MGF from a friend of a friend. 93,000 miles. Non-runner, no MOT.

Here's the story. After popping out to the shops last November the car wouldn't re-start. Apparently re-starting the car was being an intermittent chore. This time it refused to start. After being recovered it was garaged and left. One tow truck later and its now on my drive!

Battery was knackered. Replaced that with a new one and tried to start it. After a few splutters it started okay. Obviously a bit rough but it soon settled down. I then left the car for a week and fixed a few obvious MOT issues. Tonight I tried starting it again. First time starter!

I then tried switching off and restarting to see what would happen. Wouldn't restart. Engine turns over fine but only a vague hint that there is any life there. Tried full throttle, half throttle, no throttle. Won't fire. Left it 15 minutes but still no luck.

Other info. Can hear the full pump prime but not every time I put the key in. Is that normal? When running idle was a bit weird. Would stay high and drift back to normal slowly. What would cause an MGF not to start when hot? Any common problems? Anything I can test/try? Happy to get my hands dirty. As there is no MOT I can't take it to a garage. Feeling stranded. Help!!

·
Registered
2,452 Posts
Hi. Although familiar with the MG forum I'm new to the MGF area! Just acquired a 2000 VVC MGF from a friend of a friend. 93,000 miles. Non-runner, no MOT.

Here's the story. After popping out to the shops last November the car wouldn't re-start. Apparently re-starting the car was being an intermittent chore. This time it refused to start. After being recovered it was garaged and left. One tow truck later and its now on my drive!