MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Afternoon All,

Im a newbie on the forum and Im looking for some help with an Idle problem Im having with my 1998 MGF VVC.

The problem is the car wont idle properly. To start the car I have to have the acelerator to the floor. If Im lucky I can leave my driveway without high revving and kangeroo hops up the road. Once driving the car behaves. However when approaching junctions the car will just splutter to a halt or will dive way under 850rpm and recover just enough to keep the car running. The car went in for an MOT and to have the Idle issue sorted at my local garage. They cannot find the reason for idle problems and the car failed its MOT as the emmisions are running sky high. They have suggested it could be a fault with a sensor or the ecu which will need a dealer to look at.

Has anyone come accross this problem before? Any help is welcomed before the dealer takes a chunk of my hard earned savings!

Many Thanks

Spencer

·
Registered
mgf
5,476 Posts
Does indeed sound like a fault with the sensor or engine management system (MEMS). If you are reasonably DIY minded you can buy some contact cleaner (from Halfrauds or similar) and go over the engine cleaning up the electrical multiplugs to the sensors you can find and the same for the MEMS. Likewise you can dismantle the IACV (stepper motor) and clean this out with some Greygate plastic polish or similar.

From your description though it does sound a bit more serious than just a clean up job - particularly the starting issue, sounds more sensor or MEMS related than poor electrical connections. But cleaning them up can't hurt and it may cure the problem.

·
Registered
47,841 Posts
Andy's too eager to sort your problem (he is the F'ing God here), and the mod is missing AGAIN, so I'll welcome you spence - Welcome to the asylum mate, we are a very friendly if mad (some more than others - beware Spike!) group :lol:

·