MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
driving back from aberdeen to inverurie (about 16 miles) got about 2 miles before i noticed engine temp was rising and falling. Pulled into a shell garage to find a sht load of mayonase under the oil cap, all over the dipstick and no coolant just oily sluch in the coolant tank. Got it towed home but have now no idea what to do.

What is the general attitude to HGF?

Sell the car as scrap ?
Get it repaired ?
Sell parts individually?

Bearing in mind i am a student and part time trolly boy lol. Really dont want to see my car go tho.

·
Registered
1,578 Posts
Sorry to hear that. Depends on your own circumstances really.

Scrap value - not much really, then you wont have a car, and I would doubt you'd get enough for another.

Get it repaired - looking in the region of £300-400 unless you know someone who can do it, as most of the cost is labour. Worth it if you like your car, and probably cheaper than buying another - dependant on condition.

Sell parts individually - possibly, but it will take a while to get enough money for another car. This is the way to go if you can do without your car for a bit.

Rich.

·
Registered
rover_25
188 Posts
hgf

driving back from aberdeen to inverurie (about 16 miles) got about 2 miles before i noticed engine temp was rising and falling. Pulled into a shell garage to find a sht load of mayonase under the oil cap, all over the dipstick and no coolant just oily sluch in the coolant tank. Got it towed home but have now no idea what to do.

What is the general attitude to HGF?

Sell the car as scrap ?
Get it repaired ?
Sell parts individually?

Bearing in mind i am a student and part time trolly boy lol. Really dont want to see my car go tho.
depending on how mechanically minded you are another option maybe to buy another engine from a breakers and fit it yourself you may even get a small guarantee so you can check the engine is ok,just a thought