MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of my friends volunteered to change my spark plugs. Over tightened one of them sheared the plug right off. Left the threads in the block. I'm really screwed now. What next?

·
Registered
5,662 Posts
Reasoning behind my methods are if you do manage to extract the broken plug where will any swarf or broken pieced end up ? Best off removing it, clean any debris and its also easier to remove the broken part from the underside.

·
Registered
2,579 Posts
You could, a proper clean up make sure the valves are still nice and seating etc but a good shop should check anyway-see if its still true etc.

look at it this way you've got a change to put the new style headgasket, oil ladder and stretch bolts in-so problem avoided !!!!! If you already had it proceed to cry and lynch your ex-friend

·
Registered
1,578 Posts
I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination, but is it possible to cut a slot into the remaining piece (with a dremel or something similar), and get a screwdriver in it and turn it out? Feel free to flame that idea btw. :lol:

If you do go down the head removal route, look at it as a good opportunity to upgrade to the new landrover gasket and oil rail. :D

Rich.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Reasoning behind my methods are if you do manage to extract the broken plug where will any swarf or broken pieced end up ? Best off removing it, clean any debris and its also easier to remove the broken part from the underside.
I suppose i'd really want to leave it to the pro just incase as you say if anything goes pear shaped don't want to make things worse. Have pretty much all the tools would be much happier if someone who knew what they were doind were around as well

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·