MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have decided to get my 03 TF 160 back on the road. She has been standing for several years whilst the chaos that is our life took over. Where do I start?
I’m no mechanic with limited knowledge and budget, a garage’s dream customer. Obviously it’s as dead as the proverbial dodo electrically, there is a rotten spot on the front ds wheel arch. When last used everything was ok, I mothballed it for the winter.
Where do I start?

·
Premium Member
500 Posts
I have decided to get my 03 TF 160 back on the road. She has been standing for several years whilst the chaos that is our life took over. Where do I start?
I’m no mechanic with limited knowledge and budget, a garage’s dream customer. Obviously it’s as dead as the proverbial dodo electrically, there is a rotten spot on the front ds wheel arch. When last used everything was ok, I mothballed it for the winter.
Where do I start?
Oh my! Where do I start? As you know- this is going to cost money and you would be better getting someone local to assist. you dont say what part of the world you are in and COVID restrictions will limit whats reasonable in respect to the law.

I used to have a squadron of Hillman Imps and bought a Stiletto from a guy who had left it in his front garden for 10 years. It took me over a year to get it back on the road- but I was passionate about originality. The engine was mechanically siezed and i wanted that engine to be back and running rather than a 980cc block, which were available at the time , ex Chrysler.

Anyway- If its in a garage- then all the better but if not, then its not going to be in good shape.
  • You need to make sure it can be moved
  • You need to make sure the egine can be rotated
  • The fuel needs draining
  • The oil/filter need replacing
  • The plugs need to come out and some oil dropped down the bores if point 9 isn’t fatal.