MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I need some help,
I know basically nothing about all of the as I'm new to this so....

I'm looking to upgrade my speakers in my car ('98 Rover 214). I've picked out these speakers:
Alpine SPS-171A - For the front http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/alpine-sps171a-component-2way-speaker-p-220.html
Alpine SPS-13C2 - For the back http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/alpine-sps13c2-13cm-coaxial-speaker-p-457.html (This price for two?)

The head Unit I went out and got was the Sony CDX-GT410U, Yes Sony but I did get it at a good price.... The max output power is 50W x 4.

Now the speakers in the front at the moment are 5 1/4 inch in size (I think), I read somewhere on here that 6 inch speakers will fit in the front. Is this true? Will I need to be cutting up bits of mdf to fit to the speaker? Also how hard will it be to connect up the tweeters to the speakers?

Ok now I was looking to add an amp as well to connect to the front speakers, what kind of amp will be best for the SPS-171A speakers? Looking for maybe more than a 2 ch amp and looking to spend no more than £150.

So this is how I'll be connecting it all up:
Head Unit to amp
Amp to front speakers
Head Unit to back speakers

I haven't mentioned a sub in my setup at the moment as I'm not looking to add a sub just yet, maybe in a few months time.

So basically now I'm just after some help in setting all this up, how to do it, what other tools and cable I need, etc.
Will I have to change the cabling in the car for all this to connect up?

As I said before I'm new to all of this so be nice!

Thanks for any help in advance.

·
Registered
2,098 Posts
Don't really have time to offer massive advice here...

but if I remember right the SPS-171A are 6.5" speakers. That's a full inch over what you seem to think the fronts would be.
On the wedge 214 6.5" speakers go in a doddle (by using the existing mounts)
Dunno about the bubble.