MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I am a new driver and I don't really know anything at all about cars.

I've been looking at buying my first car and am coming across a lot of Rovers for around the £1000 mark. Mostly 200's and 214's. Whats the difference?

I also have been told to ask about common problems with the 200 and 214, what is the fuel consumption like and are they reasonable to insure?

Generally are they a good all-round car for a new driver?

Thanks anyone who can advise :)

·
Registered
2,400 Posts
200 is the later naming scheme for all rover 200 series. Before about R reg they were named noting their engine sizes e.g. 214, 216 etc. They were all later changed to just 200, except the 200vi and BRM, which were named accordingly.

Head gaskets can be a problem although this is more common on the larger engined cars. Evidence of good servicing should be checked.

Fuel consumption on my 214 is 33mpg (an average including all types of driving over 20 weeks) Although this isn't brilliant, performance is above average from this car.

Although insurance group 6, my quotes have always been reasonable. My first year TPFT was £1090 with Quinn Direct, less if i'd have had pass plus.

I'd recommend them as a first car (it's mine!) as they are priced quite reasonably now, even models with a high spec. Mine cost £850 and has remote central locking, electric windows, electric sunroof, alarm, immobiliser, rear wash/wipe & steering wheel radio controls. Parts are also readily available.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So essentially a 200 is going to be newer than a 214? I'm glad I asked because I'd actually assumed the opposite! Thanks.

·
Registered
211 Posts
So essentially a 200 is going to be newer than a 214? I'm glad I asked because I'd actually assumed the opposite! Thanks.