MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,708 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I know I should know this but I dont!
Friend of mine is thinking of buying a Rover, i said id come along.
What checks should I give it apart from the coolant/oil HG topic?
Not really sure what to ever look at when im giving a car the once over.

·
Registered
2,462 Posts
im no expert but, from buyin a 200 i can tell you things tht went wrong with mine just after I bought it perhaps itll help

whole exhaust system, check for corrosion , rust & especially blowing ( over 200 pounds cost me for system replacement)

Brake fluid leak via rear cylinders , somewhere near the drums at the back if you feel around & find a lot of brake fluid you know you got a leak.

Cam belt, PAS, Alternator , all were so close to goin on mine at 65 k on the clock. (include water pump )

Rust in boot is another one, but I ve looked at lot of 200's never seen any rust.
Personally I 've had more problem on the wheel arch, as the dirt has collected on the mud flap.

I'd check the fuses too, a lot of mine had been fiddled with when I purchased mine , I didn't notice half of them were wrong amp & had blown. ( which is initially why the immobilser light hadn't been workin, but still stopped me from startin the car. )

Check the lights , the connectors on the lights at the back have a nack for coming out & just stoppin one whole cluster working, nothing major just annoying. Which leads you onto the boot hinge, rust & the wires gettin caught & shorting each other out, ( is discussed a lot on here, although never incountered it myself )

I think thats all I can think of, hope its of some help.

ADDED
I'd check you have the jack an everything with it, I automatically thought it would have it, but the gimp must've lost it ( or most likely sold it on ebay )