MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

What sort of job is it replacing a noisy wheel bearing on a n/s front wheel on a 1997 400 1.6 k series twin cam car?

Cheers,

Ian...

·
Registered
57 Posts
CaptainSossige said:
Hi,

What sort of job is it replacing a noisy wheel bearing on a n/s front wheel on a 1997 400 1.6 k series twin cam car?

Cheers,

Ian...
ive got a noisey front bearing on my rover 45.been asking the same question myself.how bad is yours?

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
You'll need a press of some sort,not ness hydraulic,and assemble in correct order.It's a strange bearing,sort of two bearings in one.When pressing off old or wrongly assembling new they seperate.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's only a slight noise, but it was flagged on yesterday's MOT as a recommendation (although it's not too bad at the mo).

I think i might take it to a garage to be done! (I'm no mechanic)

How much is the part? What sort of labour do you think i'll be looking at?

·
Registered
57 Posts
CaptainSossige said:
It's only a slight noise, but it was flagged on yesterday's MOT as a recommendation (although it's not too bad at the mo).

I think i might take it to a garage to be done! (I'm no mechanic)

How much is the part? What sort of labour do you think i'll be looking at?
when i jack car up and spin wheel its seems ok but when load is on its noisey.some one said they were £28 each?

·
Registered
57 Posts
Fodenman said:
You'll need a press of some sort,not ness hydraulic,and assemble in correct order.It's a strange bearing,sort of two bearings in one.When pressing off old or wrongly assembling new they seperate.
can you give a bit more info on the type of bearing?2 bearings in 1 ???? thanks

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
Book time around one and half hours,from memory bearing around £28 from factors.If advisory shouldn't think it's much to worry about.If he felt any play to speak of it would have failed.