MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35,551 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ellesmere Port workers tempted by redundancy offer

WORKERS AT the Vauxhall Ellesmere Port factory being tempted by the severance packages on offer.

Vauxhall, which wants to eliminate 900 jobs at the factory, has received more than 900 initial enquiries.

Vauxhall is offering severance payments of up to £30,000 and immediate final salary pensions for workers aged over the age of 50 who have 10-years' pensionable service.

For those under the age of 50 with up to 6-years service, it is offering payments of £10,000 with a deferred pension scheme.
SOURCE: Autowired

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
Sorry im no expert on this, how competitive is this payout? Or does it still come out like a stuffing whichever way you cut it?

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
Since Ian posted this thread in June about a thousand jobs :bigeyes: have quietly disappeared at Elesmere Port without anyone batting an eye lid. However the future of the plant is looking at lot more rosy and it's a contender now for the next generation Astra...
Auto Industry 14th December 2006

Ellesmere Port back on track

Vauxhall’s Ellesmere Port factory has improved quality and productivity so much in the past six months that it is now competitive with GM’s other plants around Europe, and this could secure it a future beyond the current model Astra. This comes from one of GM’s top-ranking executives and will raise hopes that the plant will receive part of the investment for the next-generation Astra. A decision is due to be made in the middle of next year.