MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Different immobiliser problem, Rover 214 Si

Hi,
This is my first post here, I hope one of you good guys can help.
Rover 214 Si M Reg, 16v.
Central locking and Immobiliser were working fine, then I had the Starter Motor replaced. Now, no central locking, no immobiliser. The LED does not come on, and the locks have to be manually locked one by one. I don't think that changing starter motor had anything to do with it, but I'm no expert, so I'd appreciate any help.
Thanks.

·
Registered
782 Posts
Hi,
Was the battery disconnected when the starter was replaced ? check all your fuses and connections on your battery and feeds and earths to your starter.

Regards
DaveH

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Respot said:
Hi,
Was the battery disconnected when the starter was replaced ? check all your fuses and connections on your battery and feeds and earths to your starter.

Regards
DaveH
Hi Dave,
Yes the battery was disconnected, and I've checked all fuses. The starter motor was replaced by my local mechanic, and he checked everything that he thought would cause it, but could find nothing. This is a total mystery.
Thanks for your quick reply.
Ron

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
OK, I've done some extensive searching for an answer to this problem. The only thing that remotely looks related, seems to be a disconnected wire on the ECU. Can some one please tell me where I can find the ECU on my Rover 214 Si so that I can check if any wires are disconnected?
Thanks.

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
Have you tried re-synchronising the fob with the car? I believe pressing unlock a lot of times achieves this. Or pressing lock and then unlock a lot of times. Failing that, try a search on this site.

·
Mmmm....Rover..
10,426 Posts
Some cars had an extra ECU earth lead that was bolted under one of the 3 starter motor bolts... might be worth checking.

·
Registered
2,268 Posts