MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
mg_zs
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I replaced my old Rover 620 with an 04 plate ZS 120+ (1.8) about a week ago. The car has only done 18K but a week after buying I was doing basic check of fluids etc.. and the coolant expansion tank had dried up, leaving a brownish/red residue. I checked fluids etc before taking car from dealers ( as I was driving about 200 miles back home) and they seemed fine. Can't see any obvious leaks so topped coolant mixture back up to MAX level but it's gone a darkish colour and liquid going into expansion tank at the top seems also reddish IN COLOUR. I should point out at this stage that I'm no mechanic and can deal with routine maintenance only so apologies for the lack of any technical jargon I should have used. I'd appreciate any words of wisdom that might be of help.
THANKS

·
Registered
mg_zs
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks For This Info. Mark... As I've Topped Up With Non Oat Coolant, Will This Have Any Negative Effect On The Cooling System. Also, Does Anybody Have Any Ideas Why Coolant Loss Was So Severe?
Cheers
David

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
you are not supposed to mix ordinary antifreeze with the oat stuff ...as they are two different types of chemicals and non compatible with each other .

so drain and flush refill with one or the other.

coolant loss

could be the dreaded head gasket ..replace with land-rover one.
check for coolant in the oil ..or oil in the coolant

or leak from water pump ..replace pump if it leaks ..unlikly at low mileage

or inlet manifold gasket ...a known fault ..replace with green inlet gasket

check these out first.

All the best..mark

·
Registered
rover_200_coupe
694 Posts