MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2002 MG TF VE51FTF
371 Posts
Not really maybe the metal is scraping on the glass if so urgent, what you should get is a clunk as the window reaches the top of its travel because there is no rubber to soften the sound. The window will also go up fractionally higher as per the thickness of the stop. If your doing it yourself let me know I'm no expert but I found a couple of tricks to help, this site shows what nut does what when adjusting the window.

·
Registered
Starlight Silver MG TF 135
174 Posts
Not really maybe the metal is scraping on the glass if so urgent, what you should get is a clunk as the window reaches the top of its travel because there is no rubber to soften the sound. The window will also go up fractionally higher as per the thickness of the stop. If your doing it yourself let me know I'm no expert but I found a couple of tricks to help, this site shows what nut does what when adjusting the window.
100% agree with Deepfat. I had damage, (but NOT disintegration) on the equivalent rubber up-stop sleeve on my drivers-side door. I was able to invert my sleeve, to ensure that the black plastic stop on the glass was hitting a fresh bit of rubber as it hit the fixed stop. It would be wise to check the black plastic stop (see picture)
Automotive tire Gas Automotive wheel system Wood Rim

on your window. Loosen the screw retaining it, if it is worn (which it probably IS), then rotate it about 180 degrees, which will expose fresh plastic to your nice new rubber sleeve.
A picture of my fixed up-stop in situ with the window removed is below (sorry about the poor focus)
Wood Bumper Rim Automotive exterior Automotive design

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
mg_tf
711 Posts
With the plastic piece shown in Picture 1 missing, the window will normally run right up over the black stop and jam in the 'up' position. This will happen if you raise the window with either the door open or hood down.