MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can somebody please post the Rover workshop guide to changing discs and pads as that's what I want to do in the next few days. I've got the Haynes manual but any extra info or diagrams will help as I've never worked on brakes before. I also need to know what tools and parts I will need (fluids/sprays/greases etc.).

Brave/stupid? All top tips appreciated.

Thanks,

Alan

·
Registered
2,451 Posts
the haynes will be fine, just use a good brake cleaner from halfords, clean the new disks thorughly with a degreasent. You dont really need any extra info if you have a manual already!

HTH

Ben

·
Registered
mini_the_real_one
11,237 Posts
yeh, haynes gives a relatively straight forward guide. its something that when you know what you're doing only takes about 20 minutes either side of the car.
Steve

·
Registered
mg_zr
8,240 Posts
I think the Rover 200 brakes are as easy as it gets.... very simple design, and good to work on.

Just double / tripple check the fluid level as you push the piston back (making sure the top is off the fluid).... A little Piston movement = lots of fluid...

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So a can of brake cleaner and a degreasant then.. Any need for grease for the pistons?

--Alan

·
Registered
446 Posts