MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
what a guy
6,972 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
alright chaps, bit worried...

got home tonight about 10 mins ago and my car wouldn't lock.

the remote wouldn't do anything and when I tried locking it with the key only the driver's door locked (i dunno if its supposed to do all the doors with the key)

the little red ring of light around the ignition doesnt light up either, the little red flashing light on the dash doesn't do anything and the interior light doesnt do anything if its on the setting where it lights up when unlocked.

anyone got any ideas?

cheers

·
Registered
1 Posts
Fuse for sure

Hi, i'm not an expert but the exact thing hapen to me last week, and i was able to fix it.
Check the fuse for the central lock (fuse box under the hood), i think it's the first one any way it says in the fuse box cap.

Sry about my english but i'm portuguese and i haven't pratice much.

Cheers.

·
what a guy
6,972 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
yeah it still starts fine, I disconnected the battery and left it for about 10 minutes on the off chance that it would do anything... which it didn't lol.

I'll check the fuses

·
Registered
7,647 Posts
Good point that any electrical problems should always be checked at the FuseBox first! Solved my interior light and sunroof issue after hours of taking the light off putting it on, taking the interior apart to access wiring that didnt have a problem. I just take the interior fuse cover off to check it again (after my Dad had checked it and given it the OK) and what do I see the plug socket hanging out the plug, plugged it in and hey presto!

·
Registered
507 Posts
Hi.. I had a simular problem with my zr and it turned out to be the driver central locking motor was knackered. Cost approx £200 for a new motor fitted at a MGR garage in January this year.

·
Registered
5 Posts