MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All,

I am a VB developer and I am building some custom software for my carputer when I get round to researching the power and audio wiring and parts for it all.

If anyone would like some custom software for there little screens then let me know and I will build to your needs, I will post my application when I have finshed it a bit more. If anyone knows how I can hook up to the on board computer parts of the car then let me know as I will program onto the screen information like current speed and temp etc.. of the car running.

Email me @ [email protected] or message me here.

This is a FREE service as I am doing it for myself too so don't ask how much this will set me back as it won't (I am just that type of guy that likes to help out)

Cheers

·
Registered
mg_zt
3,335 Posts
Hi Richard....

There are a number of different things that you need to do this....
Integrating the Audio is not a big task, all that is needed is an after market amplifier, the sound card from any PC will drive this...
Getting the data from the Car's Databus is something that I've been looking into, the 75/ZT has what's called a CAN-Bus, which adhere's to the EOBD-2 standard and there are usb interfaces out there for that task.
The major thing is the cost of the touchscreens...
Cheers

John

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Now I am a software developer and computer geek but I am not into electronics nor under the bonet of a car so where would this box plug into on the car to read information?

·
Registered
2,077 Posts
Richard - a very generous offer indeed. I'm a web developer, and have thought about deliving into this a few times, but don't know where to start. Here are a few things for you to think about:

Adding temp sensors so people can get temperature readouts for their amps

Multiple (maybe 4 or 8?) fan controllers, for cooling amp racks