MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok I'll keep it brief...

I'm a listed driver (18 year old male, no NCD, held licence for 18months) on my mum's policy with direct line, paying £50/month and the renewal date is 26th May.

As we all know Direct Line don't let young drivers put alloys or any modifications on their car at all.

I've been searching around all morning looking for a decent quote, cheapest being Endsleigh for £1200 (incl student discount!) for TPFT.

This is a huge leap from the £600/year I'm paying just now so I've decided that what I'd like to do is stay on a policy with my mum but with a company that'll allow young drivers to drive a modified car. This way I think it'd remain more or less the same price or even cheaper for the insurance with her max NCD (which I'm currently benefitting from) and I can stay on that policy till even just next year when I'll have more money and perhaps find a better quote given that I'll be 19 (unlikely though).

Can anyone make any recommendations on how I should go about this, if it's even possible or anyone who's doing it at the moment?

I realise that getting my own policy is the best idea, but I've not got enough money to do that right now, what with holidays coming up etc.

Thanks

·
Registered
other_manufacturer
34,938 Posts
you will be comitting fraud if you will be the main driver of the car when you are a named occasional use driver.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
On the policy just now it's me who's listed as the main driver - but under my mum's name, and that was Direct Line who suggested that.

·
Registered
30,859 Posts
wont you be better off just staying with direct line for a year (dont they give you a years no claims?) and not modding your car, until next year when you will have a years no claims, and hopefully a cheaper quote!

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #5