MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone.

I could be buying a car tomorrow, its been on the cards for some time. Like everyone I've a ton of questions that should probably wait until I have it. But one concern is the change in petrol and will I be able to fit the car up in the future?

Tomorrow as a complete sucker, what should I ask the dealer and look for please? Any one live near Grantham Lincs an own's a MGTF and knows about them out of interest?

Thanks "馃槀馃槀The sucker"

Registered
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I'd like to think they're maybe a few little jobs a novice could do on their cars. I'm looking to start simple and work up, how difficult is it to clean the underneath, or should you have that done by a pro? What about a little service, I'm a complete novice but would like to do some work on my own old car? Oil change maybe? Break pads are they difficult? What would a 2002 car need doing, 19 years old? Does the forum have any help pages I could follow doing small stuff?

Thanks all.

Premium Member
Most jobs on these cars can be done by a novice. Id leave the engine alone as theres plenty else to keep you busy. I always wire-brush all the loose rust off suspension arms and pin- then give it a cost of black gloss hammerite. You can easily underseal the car- they are so small that if you do the rear on axle stands, then drop back down and raise the front, finish the part of the underside you dindt reach!
Brake pads are easy. These days you have Youtube, in my days it was asking mates or dad (who was busy himslf maintaining his car!)
Rust is a problem- especially subframes. Brake lines are >20 years old now and will need replacing where rusted.
Just make a list that you are comfortable with and work through it. Theres lots of how toos on here.

• Love
Reactions: Richardhb

Rover Lifestyle
Rover 200 Rover 600
Welcome to the forum! Enjoy your time here!