MG-Rover.org Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello

I've recently purchased a MG ZR 160, four years old, FSH, excellent con in and out however I'm not sure if the exhaust is ok.

I'm really a newbie when it comes to cars so I will try and explain as best as possible. When I accelerate hard the exhaust make a raspy, sort of rattle noise, which does sound very sporty but at the same time reminds me of an old banger fitted with a noisy exhaust you see/hear flying by.

The raspy/rattle noise happens only when I hit between roughly 2-4000rpm and after that disappears and the engine makes a nice roar.

Some of my mates say it sounds sweet and that there is nothing wrong with it but others say its blowing (I can't confirm this though as I'm never heard an exhaust blowing). It sounds worst actually in the car than out. I got my mate to do a drive by (with out the guns ;) and it did sound good.

I understand that the twin bore exhaust has a valve to help create a more sporty sound so I'm not sure if that’s the cause or if there is in fact a problem. I know that if I take it to a garage they would simply say it needs replacing regardless of where it does or not so I'm trying to figure this out for myself.

Any help would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
mg_zr
698 Posts
I don't think it's anything to worry about. It's probably the 2nd exit pipe opening up to alow the gases to escape quicker.
Best thing to do is at a standstill, and once warmed up, rev it until you hear the noise.
If it's blowing, you would know!

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Hello, thanks for the replies.

Ok, took it for a drive tonight and paid close attention to when I hear the raspy/sort of rattle noice. It starts to come in at its peak when revs are reaching 3000rpm, after that it disappears and the sound is great!