MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13,101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
is there anybody who is good with c++ cause im stuck on my coursework and need help, ive got a post on cprogramming.com, but there not that lively.
ill give more details if sombody replies.
thanks

·
Registered
8,105 Posts
im not so good on C++, you tried asking on experts-exchange.com? I'm a registered expert on there and you can normally get an excellent response pretty quickly

·
Registered
14,750 Posts
What's the problem? Post it up anyway.

There are quite a few v good programmers on here.

Is it .Net version?

You have to pay for experts exchange, i use a friends account :shh:

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
My observations would be, if you're using CPP why use structs why not use an object? Then have methods for entry/removal of the booking slots, and track these as items are added/removed...?

eg psuedocode:

reserveSlot (weekNumber, slotNumber) {
updateUsage (weekNumber, slotNumber);
}

removeSlot (weekNumber, slotNumber) {
decreaseUsage(weekNumber, slotNumber);
}

You could store the results in an array, eg week1Array[slotNumber]++; or even better a 2D array or database and it will scale then, it you decide to track an extra month etc.

...or am i missing the point completely lol. Sorry its rough, im more Java than cpp, but it does seem to me to make more sense to use an object than a struct.

·
Registered
13,101 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
sorry not done any object orientated yet. will do in 2nd year though. but at the mo my program is about 1k lines long, and deadline is wed. so have to finish it how it is if you know what i mean.

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
OK understood, but still the essence of what you are trying to do, if I understand correctly, is count which slots are used for a given week, against the total number of available slots, is that correct?

·
Registered
13,101 Posts
Discussion Starter #10