MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As mine's a Mk1 MGF I only have 2 speakers which is fine most of the time however with the roof off you just can't hear them over the wind noise.

I'm going to get some 6.5" speakers to replace the standard ones but was wondering if anyone had managed to fit some additional 4" speakers up front like in my (poor) Photoshop pic.

I know I could get the later T bar and speakers etc. but it seems like a lot of hassle when this might be an easy solution for a bit more volume.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Do you mean fitting some speakers to my T bar or getting a later model T bar with the speaker holes already in?

·
Registered
14,789 Posts
I don't know enough about it, you can probab;y get a cage to hold them, i'd have a search for t-bar speakers and see what comes up, should be quite a few threads. :)

·
Registered
283 Posts
Hey buddy, i`m a complete noob when it comes to MGF specifics, only got mine last Tuesday, 1996 VVC. But i am mad into car audio and ICE in all my previous cars.

Clearly with it being a 2 seater you haven`t got your standard parcel shelf for 6x9 therefore it all related to the T bar and what you can fit in that!

I am currently getting my head around it all and planning my attack. This post i made a few days ago should clarify a few things for you:

http://forums.mg-rover.org/showthread.php?t=185940

There are two main options:
1) buy a new Tbar with speaker grills and buy a speaker pod to hold the speakers
2) DIY and simply cut and mount the speakers in the Tbar!

Now for the price, as far as I can see for the cost and neatness i am 95% sure i`m going for a new tbar and pod (£75 ish second hand off ebay).
Eventually gonna go for a sub behind the passanger seat.