MG-Rover.org Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m a newbie here and only discovered your site today, so firstly I’d like to say how good it is and that I’m very impressed with the extremely helpful & knowledgeable answers given in the forums.

Hopefully one of you will be able to answer a couple of simple questions I have:

Rover 214 16k series 1994

The head is coming for a head gasket change (coolant in expansion tank is now becoming very oily).

I’ve not done a gasket change on these engines before, but I understand that I line-up the timing mark on the crankshaft and make sure the inlet/exhaust timing marks on the 2 camshaft sprockets line up correctly together.

The cam belt has to be removed and obviously the tool for locking the camshaft sprockets can’t be used because the sprockets need to be removed before the head can be lifted off the block, so I was wondering:-

1) After removing the cam belt & camshaft sprockets, how much are the camshafts likely to rotate due the pressure of the valve springs?

2) When the head is placed back on the block and the sprockets reinstalled onto the camshafts, how easy is it (and what’s the best way) to rotate the camshafts so that the inlet/exhaust camshaft timing marks can realign correctly, before I refit the (new) cam belt?

Thanks for any answers

·
Registered
797 Posts
garyb said:
The cam belt has to be removed and obviously the tool for locking the camshaft sprockets can’t be used because the sprockets need to be removed before the head can be lifted off the block
The tool made by Draper or Lazer does lock the wheels so that you can remove the cambelt with the wheels left in-place; the wheels don't usualy need to come off for HG replacement.

Haynes or the 'RAVE' manual will advise how to re-align, but done correctly, you should only need to check alignment rather than adjust for alignment.

Cheers

·
Registered
25,606 Posts